TIMELY NOTICE OF PENDING TERMINATION WORK FIRST FAMILY ASSISTANCE

Dear Work First Family:

North Carolina's Work First Program provides cash assistance to assist in achieving self-sufficiency. Under North Carolina State law there is a 60 month lifetime limit of assistance to parents who receive Work First Family Assistance for their children as a payee. Parents who receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI) are excluded from this lifetime limit.

When you get your next check, your family will have received 58 months of Work First Family Assistance in North Carolina and will have only 2 months of Work First Family Assistance left. You will receive another letter telling you the exact date your Work First Family Assistance ends.

YOU MAY BE ABLE TO GET YOUR TIME LIMIT EXTENDED.

In some situations, your family may qualify for additional months of Work First Family Assistance. If your family is experiencing unusual circumstances and you are unable to support your family through no fault of your own, you may be able to receive additional months of Work First Family Assistance if you are granted a hardship extension.

If you believe that you have not received Work First Family Assistance in North Carolina for 58 months, contact your Work First Family Assistance case worker or their supervisor to request additional months of Work First Family Assistance. You can do this through the mail or in person or over the telephone. When you request an extension a local hearing will be held to determine if you qualify. If you appeal this decision before your assistance ends, you will continue to receive assistance until the first hearing decision has been made, unless you waive this right. If benefits are continued and the hearing shows that the action taken was correct, you must repay the benefits you received while waiting for the hearing decision.

A local hearing will be held within 5 days of your request. If you ask, the hearing can be postponed, for good reasons, for as much as 10 calendar days.

If you think the decision in the local hearing is wrong, call or write your caseworker within 15 DAYS to ask for a second hearing. The second hearing is before an impartial official of the State Division of Social Services. You must ask the county department of social services, either orally or in writing to get your hearing. If you live in certain counties, the second hearing is before a county official.

YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR OTHER KINDS OF ASSISTANCE

Even if your time limit has run out, the department of social services has other programs that might help you. You have to apply for these services separately. Ask your worker for more information about these services and how to apply.

Food and Nutrition Services Program
Work First Short Term Benefits and Services
Medicaid
Crisis Intervention Program

Child Care
Emergency Assistance
N. C. Health Choice for Children

You have the right to see your record.

If you ask, your caseworker will show you (or the person speaking for you) your record before your hearing.

If you ask, you may also see other information to be used at the hearing. You can get free copies of this information. You may see this information again at your hearing.

You have the right to be represented.

You may have someone speak for you at your hearing, such as a relative or a paralegal or an attorney obtained at your expense. **Free legal services may be available in your community.** Contact your nearest Legal Aid or Legal Services office, or call **1-866-219-5262** toll free.

Beware of Fraud

Don't forget to report all changes to your county department of social services within 10 calendar days (5 calendar days for Special Assistance). If you don't know whether a change is important, ask your caseworker. If you do not truthfully report information and changes, you may be guilty of a misdemeanor or felony.

If your Work First Family Assistance stopped:

You will continue to receive child support services, unless you ask the Child Support Enforcement Office to stop them. If you choose to stop services, but reapply for services within thirty (30) days, you will not be charged an application fee. Contact your county's Child Support Enforcement Office.

If you have additional questions or concerns:

Contact your caseworker for information, or call DHHS Customer Service Center toll free at 1-800-662-7030. TDD/Voice for the hearing impaired is also available through the number. Their hours of operation are 8 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday.