# TIMELY NOTICE OF PENDING TERMINATION WORK FIRST CASH ASSISTANCE

## **Dear Work First Family:**

North Carolina's Work First Program provides cash assistance while families are looking for work. Under federal law, you are limited to a total of 60 months of assistance during your lifetime.

When you get your next check, your family will have received 58 months of Work First Assistance and will have only 2 months of Work First Assistance left. You will receive another letter telling you the exact date your Work First Assistance ends.

## YOU MAY BE ABLE TO GET YOUR TIME LIMIT EXTENDED.

In some situations, your family may qualify for additional months of Work First Assistance. If you meet the conditions of your Mutual Responsibility Agreement **and** remain unable to support your family through no fault of your own, **or** if your family is experiencing unusual circumstances, you may be able to receive additional months of Work First Assistance if you are granted a hardship exemption.

<u>TO REQUEST A HARDSHIP EXEMPTION</u>, contact your Work First case manager or supervisor to request additional months of Work First Assistance. You can do this through the mail or in person or over the telephone. When you request an extension, a local **hearing** will be held to determine if you qualify. To help you prepare for your exemption hearing, you may request assistance from the county department of social services, or ask for information from your case file. Contact your Work First case manager to request assistance and/or information.

## YOU MAY APPEAL THE DECISION TO TERMINATE YOUR BENEFITS

If you believe that you have **not** received Work First Assistance for 58 months, contact your Work First Family Assistance case manager. See your appeal rights on the back of this letter. If you appeal this decision before your assistance ends, you will continue to receive assistance until the first hearing decision has been made, unless you choose to waive your right to continued benefits. If benefits are continued and the hearing shows that the changes were correct, you must repay the benefits you received while waiting for the hearing decision.

#### YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR OTHER KINDS OF ASSISTANCE

Even if your time limit has run out, the department of social services has other programs that might help you. **You have to apply for these services separately**. Ask your worker for more information and how to apply.

Food and Nutrition Services Program
Benefit Diversion
Medicaid
Crisis Intervention Program

<u>Child Care</u> <u>Emergency Assistance</u> <u>N. C. Health Choice for Children</u>

The North Carolina Division of Social Services does not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, sex, or age in the admission, treatment, or participation in its programs, services and activities, or in employment.

DSS-8220B (rev.05/13) Economic and Family Services

### **APPEALS**

If you are not satisfied with this decision, you have a right to request a hearing. This hearing will establish whether this action was correct and give you benefits if it is wrong. First, you can have a hearing before an impartial official of the county department of social services. This hearing will be held within 5 days of your request, unless you postpone it, for good reasons, for as much as 10 more days. Then, if you are dissatisfied with this decision, you can have a second hearing before an impartial official of the State Division of Social Services. You must ask the county department of social services, either orally or in writing, to get your hearing. In certain counties, the second hearing is before a county official.

#### YOUR RIGHT TO BE REPRESENTED

You may have someone speak for you at your hearings such as a relative or an attorney obtained at your expense. Free legal services may be available in your community. Contact your worker for information or call DHHS Customer Support toll free, at 1-800-662-7030.

## YOUR RIGHT TO SEE YOUR RECORD

If you ask, your worker will show you and the person speaking for you your eligibility record before your hearings. You may also see any other information to be used at the hearings if you ask. You can get free copies of this information. You may see this information again at your hearings.

#### DO YOU UNDERSTAND YOUR RIGHTS?

Do you understand how to get a hearing? Do you understand how to keep receiving your benefits until your first hearing is decided? If you have any questions or need further information, please contact your worker as soon as possible.

## **BEWARE OF FRAUD! REPORT CHANGES WITHIN 10 DAYS**

You must report all changes of any information provided to determine your eligibility to your county department of social services within 10 days. The General Statues of North Carolina state that anyone who gets or tries to get assistance for himself or someone else by intentionally saying something that is untrue, or intentionally misrepresenting something as untrue, or intentional not giving necessary information may be guilty of a misdemeanor or felony. Be careful! If you do not know whether a change is important, ask your worker.

## NOTICE TO WORK FIRST CLIENTS WHOSE BENEFITS HAVE STOPPED

You will continue to receive child support services for the first five (5) months after your Work First payment has stopped. After the five (5) month period, you can choose the services you want. If you choose to stop services at the end of the five (5) month period but later reapply for services within thirty (30) days, you will not be charged an application fee. Contact your county department of social services for the telephone number of the Child Support Enforcement Agency in your county.