## **CRITICAL INCIDENT REPORTING FORM**

North Carolina Division of Social Services Regulatory and Licensing Services

Attention: This form must be completed by agency staff and submitted to the North Carolina Division of Social Services, Regulatory and Licensing Services, via email to your NC Division of Social Services Program Consultant and copied to Sandra.Craig@dhhs.nc.gov within 72 hours of the incident. This form must be password protected before being emailed.

## **GENERAL INFORMATION**

Agency Name:			
Agency Address:			
Please choose <u>ONE</u> of the following (A <u>OR</u> B):			
A. Name of residential facility or maternity home:			
Address of residential facility or maternity home:			
B. Name(s) of foster parent(s):			
Address of foster parent(s):			
Facility ID Number of foster home: (Family _ or Therapeutic)			
Client name: Age: Date client placed with agency:			
Parent/Guardian or Legal Custodian: Date/Time of notification:/			
Date of incident: First person to learn of incident:			
Was the client treated by a physician for the incident:   Yes No If yes, date of treatment:			
Was the client restrained at the time of the incident:   Yes No If yes, Restraint Form must be completed			
Was the client in seclusion at the time of the incident:  Yes No			
Date/Time report prepared:/ Name/Title of staff completing report:/			
Name/Title of supervisory staff reviewing report:/			
TYPE OF INCIDENT (Check all items that apply)			
Incident which requires ADMISSION to a hospital:  Accident Injury Medication Error Other Includes self-injurious behaviors			
Death, Suicide Attempt, Runaway, Arrest:  Death  Suicide Attempt  Runaway  Lasting more than 24 hours			
Child Abuse or Neglect:  ☐ Any case of abuse or neglect being investigated by a County Department of Social Services			
County DSS reported to: Date reported:			
Date accepted for Investigation: County DSS investigating the report:			
Date accepted for Investigation: County DSS investigating the report:			

DSS-5281 (June 2014)

## **NARRATIVE**

For Child Protective Services incidents describe the circumstances of the allegation. Include the place where the incident occurred and if the incident involved a staff member, foster parent, or someone else (state relationship). Please state what was reported to the county department of social services (if known). Please note that for incidents involving child abuse or neglect you are NOT to conduct your own investigation. Describe the safety plan that has been put in place.

For Other incidents (not Child Protective Services) describe the incident. Include the place where the incident occurred, cause of the incident (if known), and the individuals involved. State any investigation that has been done to determine the cause of the incident and any corrective measures put in place or planned to be put in place as a result of the incident.

	<u>NOTIFICATION</u>		
List other authorities that have been notified as a result of the incident:			
County DSS:	Name of DSS worker contacted:	Date:	
NC Division of Social Services Program Consultant: Date:			
Law Enforcement: _	Date:		
Other authorities:	Date:		