IMPORTANT NOTICE YOUR ESTATE IS SUBJECT TO MEDICAID RECOVERY Individuals age 55 and over

This is **NOTICE** that Federal and State law authorize Medicaid to file a claim against your estate to recover certain payments made by the Medicaid program on your behalf. We cannot collect any assets (property or money) that are not part of your estate at the time of your death. No lien will be placed on your property as part of the recovery process.

Your estate is subject to recovery because:

- You applied or reapplied for Medicaid on or after October 1, 1994, and
- You are age **55 or older**, and
- ► Medicaid is paying for a portion of your care in a nursing facility, **OR** you are receiving home and community-based services, or
- ► You are receiving Personal Care Services (PCS).

Recovery will be claimed for Medicaid payments for the following services as stated in the North Carolina State Plan, as well as in the North Carolina General Statute § 108A-70.5.

- ► Home and community-based services
- ► Nursing facility services
- ► Hospital care
- ► Personal care services (PCS)
- ► Prescription drugs.

There are some circumstances when we will not collect from your estate. Medicaid will waive recovery when:

The total assets in your estate are less than \$50,000, or The total Medicaid paid on your behalf is less than \$10,000.

There are some circumstances when your estate can be deferred:

when the spouse of the Medicaid beneficiary is still living; or, when the Medicaid beneficiary has a surviving child who is under age 21, or when the Medicaid beneficiary has a surviving child of any age who is blind or disabled as provided in 42 U.S.C. § 1396p(b)(2)(A); or when a qualified undue hardship applicant continues to meet the undue hardship criteria

If you have questions about anything in this notice, contact your local Department of Social Services. Should you have further questions regarding Medicaid, you may call the NC Medicaid Contact Call Center, toll free at (888) 245-0179 (English/Spanish) or (888) 835-5322 (Note:this is a TTY number that is for deaf or hearing-impaired callers). The NC Medicaid Contact Call Center is open from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday. Additional information about services in your community is also found on the Department of Health and Human Services website at www.ncdhhs.gov/assistance.